Governor names two to Medicaid and Lottery panels

Among many appointments Gov. Dennis Daugaard made in recent weeks was his pick of Dr. Deidra Vangilder of Watertown for a seat on the state Medicaid Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee.

Vangilder succeeds Debra Farver of Yankton, who had served on the panel since 2008. The committee’s duties include overseeing prescriptions of opioids to Medicaid patients in South Dakota.

The governor also appointed a new member to the South Dakota Lottery Commission.

Jason Ahrendt of Sioux Falls fills the seven months remaining on the term of Cheryl Laurenz Bogue of Faith. She had served on the lottery’s oversight panel since 2017.