Who voted to block pedestrian legislation?

A coalition of seven Republicans and two Democrats cast the decisive votes that tabled legislation in 2015 that sought to require drivers to come to a complete stop while a pedestrian crosses a street or highway.

The Daugaard administration proposed the change in HB 1032. State law instead requires a driver to yield only until the pedestrian is out of the way. That’s still the case.

The must-yield law applies when a pedestrian is in the crosswalk or at a recognized crossing place. The law doesn’t apply in spots where a traffic device or a law enforcement officer regulates the flow of traffic.

The measure is back in the news after a pedestrian death in Sioux Falls last week.

The House Transportation Commission voted 9-4 to table — aka kill — the measure on Jan. 22, 2015. Minutes from the meeting don’t show any person testifying against it.

Voting to table were Republicans Dan Kaiser of Aberdeen, Nancy Rasmussen of Hurley, Tim Rounds of Pierre, Jim Schaefer of Kennebec, Lee Schoebeck of Watertown, Jim Stalzer of Sioux Falls and Dick Werner of Huron, along with Democrats Dennis Feickert of Aberdeen and Dean Schrempp of Lantry.

Voting against the table motion were Republicans Jim Bolin of Canton, Steve Hickey of Sioux Falls, Mary Duvall of Pierre and Mike Verchio of Hill City, who was the committee chairman.

Three witnesses testified in support: state Department of Transportation lawyer Bill Nevin, state Department of Public Safety lobbyist Dana Svendsen and lobbyist Dean Krogman representing the American Heart Association.

Schoenbeck made the tabling motion. Rounds seconded it.

Five days later, the committee removed the legislation from the table on a 7-5 vote to further consider the proposal. Voting against further consideration were Kaiser, Rasmussen, Rounds, Schoenbeck and Stalzer.

Nearly two weeks later, the committee took up the bill a final time. Bolin and Werner tried to amend the proposal but they failed on a voice vote. The 12 members present that morning of Feb. 10, 2015, then voted 12-0 to set the bill aside.