Legislature’s Executive Board starts before sunrise Monday

The official time of sunrise for Pierre on Monday is 7:35 a.m. CT. The agenda for the Legislature’s Executive Board. calls for its chairman, House Speaker Mark Mickelson, to gavel in its meeting at 7:30.

And meeting beforehand at 6:45 a.m. is the executive committee of Mickelson, R-Sioux Falls; Senate president pro tem Brock Greenfield, R-Clark; and House Democratic leader Spencer Hawley of Brookings.

The schedule is jammed with two dozen items (and two dozen more if you add up the sub-items) — and at 4:35 p.m. the panel plans to adjourn and re-assemble as the Legislature’s Bonding Committee to receive those reports.

From the House, other board members are representatives Spencer Gosch, R-Glenham; Steven Haugaard, R-Sioux Falls; House Republican leader Lee Qualm of Platte; Tim Reed, R-Brookings; Mike Stevens, R-Yankton; and Craig Tieszen, R-Rapid City.

Senators are Jim Bolin, R-Canton; Senate Republican leader R. Blake Curd of Sioux Falls; Kris Langer, R-Dell Rapids;  Jeff Partridge, R-Rapid City;  Jim Stalzer, R-Sioux Falls; and Senate Democratic leader Billie H. Sutton of Burke.