Governor picks a new pair for two state boards

Gov. Dennis Daugaard has selected a new member for the State Library Board and a new member for the South Dakota Veterans Commission.

He chose Brooks T. Schild, a science teacher at Yankton Middle School, to succeed Michael Birnbaum of Rapid City on the veterans panel.

Then-Gov. Mike Rounds originally appointed Birnbaum in 2006. Daugaard reappointed him in 2011.

For the library board, Daugaard selected Tom Nelson of Spearfish to succeed Diane Olson of Mitchell.

Rounds originally appointed Olson in 2008 to fill a partial term and reappointed her in 2010. Daugaard later appointed her again.

Daugaard also reappointed Carol Twedt of Sioux Falls to the library board. He picked Twedt in 2015 to succeed Steve Willard of Belle Fourche.