Governor issues appointments

Gov. Dennis Daugaard made one reappointment and two appointments recently to state government boards and commissions, according to the latest issue of the Legislature’s official Register.

Kenneth Albers of Canton was reappointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles. Albers, a former sheriff and a former legislator, would serve in his new term starting Jan. 18, 2018, until Jan. 17, 2022. He served 10 years as a state senator, from 1997 through 2004 and from 2007 through 2008.

Norman Sorenson of Rapid City was appointed to the Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologists effective immediately Nov. 20, 2017. His term runs until Oct. 30, 2020. He succeeds Louise French of Rapid City, who served three terms. She originally was appointed July 18, 2008, by then-Gov. Mike Rounds.

Robert Huggins of Sioux Falls was appointed to the Aeronautics Commission. His term took effect immediately Nov. 17, 2017, and runs until Oct. 30, 2020. He succeeds Vernon “Skip” VanDerhule of Yankton. VanDerhule served three terms and originally was appointed Aug. 19, 2004, by then-Gov. Rounds.