Did state’s School Finance Accountability Board members meet 85 percent goals for raising teacher salaries?

Gov. Dennis Daugaard appoints the five members of South Dakota’s School Finance Accountability Board.

Their general role is to determine whether school districts achieved the goals the Legislature set in 2016, when lawmakers raised the state sales tax rate to 4.5 percent from 4 percent, in order to provide additional funding for teachers.

The new state law called for penalties against school districts that didn’t use at least 85 percent of the additional money for teacher salaries. There are two measures:

1) Did the district use at least 85 percent of its new money for teacher salaries and benefits?

2) And did the district meet the minimum percent of increase for teacher salaries and benefits?

State government’s Department of Education released results Friday on whether each district met the fiscal 2017 goals.

Mitchell Daily Republic reporter Caitlynn Peetz found some districts in the newspaper’s coverage area face possible penalties.

By my count there were 36 districts statewide that didn’t meet at least one of the goals. The districts can file appeals to the School Finance Accountability Board.

The state board’s members will look at each appeal and make a recommendation to a special committee of the Legislature for what should happen to the district.

Here is the page that has the link to the list of every district in the state. You want the “by district” link.

So how did the four school districts with members on the state board do? (Patrick Weber, an aide to the governor, is the fifth member.)

Belle Fourche met the 85 percent goals. Its state board member is Susan Proefrock.

Brandon Valley met the 85 percent goals. Its state board member is Jarod Larson.

Huron met the 85 percent goals. Its state board member is Terry Nebelsick.

Mobridge-Pollock met the 85 percent goals. Its state member of Eric Stroeder.

Who didn’t make one of the goals or both goals?Those failing to provide salary and benefit increases of at least 85 percent of new money were Bon Homme, Canistota, Clark, Colome, Doland, Edgemont, Edmunds Central, Faith, Faulkton, Garretson, Gayville-Volin, Gettysburg, Henry, Herreid, Highmore-Harrold, Hitchcock-Tulare, Jones County, Kimball, Lead-Deadwood, Lemmon, Lyman, McLaughlin, New Underwood, Newell, Pierre, Plankinton, Rosholt, Sanborn Central, Sisseton, Summit, Wall and Willow Lake.

Those failing to meet the other accountability were Corsica-Stickney, Herreid, Hoven, Kadoka, New Underwood and White River.

The potential penalty for 2018 is losing one-half of the increase in local need. The potential penalty for the following three years — 2019 through 2021 — is a reduction of $500 per teacher in the district.